leofert.blogg.se

Mac byword
Mac byword











mac byword
  1. MAC BYWORD UPDATE
  2. MAC BYWORD FREE
  3. MAC BYWORD MAC

Overall impression: Byword is back in the game, big time! Also, why not adding some shortcuts for very basic formats such as bold and italics for those of us who don’t want to use Markdown language (my guess is that there might be file system restrictions)? For example, while I am very thankful for the navigation keys, I find the way they are organized (left, down, up, right) confusing.

MAC BYWORD UPDATE

I hope that these things will be added in a future update (you gotta have some room for improvements).Īnd last, I think that the toolbar could be further optimized.

MAC BYWORD MAC

Other features of the Mac version, such as Typewriter Mode and Paragraph / Line Focus, also didn’t make it to the iPad version. The missing dark theme mode is probably my biggest complaint, especially as we can see on OmmWriter for iPad that you do not have to adopt the standard iPad keyboard. My first impression is that Byword did a really good job with its new iPad app. But my love for Byword returned quickly once I figured out that you can access the other, more useful functions by swiping left and right on the toolbar. To be honest, I was at first infuriated by that toolbar, since its displays a word counter by default when I opened Byword for the first time. In contrast to iA Writer, Byword does not waste too much screen estate on its toolbar, leaving you more space to actually see your text.īyWord adds a toolbar that offers more features on less space than iA Writer. Second, Byword enhances the iPad’s keyboard with a toolbar for navigating your document and adding special characters or Markdown formats. First, it plays nicely with TextExpander, which lets you enter smaller and larger chunks of text with via a user-defined shortcut. In addition, good iPad apps also throw in some extras that enhance your writing productivity in a more technical sense.īyword for iPad has two features that stand out.

MAC BYWORD FREE

I am not saying that I couldn’t live without Byword on my iPhone, but I can image some situation in which having it as a universal app might be useful.ĭistraction free writing is a great creativity boost because you cannot hide behind different formats, layouts, views, and menus any longer. Oh, and last, Byword is a universal app, which means that you can use it also on your iPhone / iPod touch for no extra charge. This is too bad, as the dark theme is one of my most favorite features of Byword for Mac. However, it is lacking the dark theme (for more eye-friendly writing night shifts see image above) its Mac version comes with. You can format your text via Markdown language, and ByWord lets you view your formatted document in a Preview mode.īyWord also lets you customize its appearance a bit, offering four different type sets. In order to sync ByWord documents from your Mac to your iPad / iPhone via iCloud, you have to save the document in the Markdown file format before moving it to iCloud. Otherwise, these files won’t show up on your iPad, even if you did move them to iCloud! Important: Before you can move ByWord documents from your Mac to iCloud, you have to save them using the “Markdown (Plain Text)” format.

mac byword

You can sync your work with the Mac version via iCloud or Dropbox, and you can also export your text via email. So grab a copy of it now, and save the other 3 bucks for a soy latteīyword for iPad has all the features you needĪs you would expect, Byword comes with a minimalistic feature set that lets you focus on writing. It currently asks for an introductory price of $3 (50% off). Today, I am focusing only on Byword’s iPad app (iTunes link). But now that Byword has caught up with iA Writer, I can tell you more about what makes Byword a great (maybe my favorite?) distraction-free writing solution. What held me back? Byword was slow to enter the iCloud game. I have written about similar apps, such as OmmWriter and iA Writer, before, but except for hinting at ByWord as a good alternative, I haven’t talked about it in much detail. Byword, my maybe favorite distraction-free writing app on the Mac, has finally arrived on the iPad.













Mac byword